Banner image

Map overview

In order to make the UK Prominent Peaks database easy to use, there are a range of maps available. These include both maps focusing on a particular peak and those covering wider areas.

Map links in peak list

In the Database List Excel workbook there are 3 links to maps for each of the 1564 hills in cols R, S & T.

Snowdon data extract

Using Snowdon as an example (col Q) the first link is illustrated with the screenshot below.

North Wales

This shows all the 86 Prominent Peaks in North Wales with an appropriate icon (4 colours and 3 sizes) marking their position. This Google Map can be manipulated to zoom further in. The map can be moved across the screen by dragging with the mouse or using the direction arrows provided. The map is initially in ‘terrain’ form but you can change the view to ‘satellite’ or ‘map’. All 86 hills share the same map and you can find the one of particular interest to you by searching the list on the left (alphabetical order) or by clicking just above each icon.

More information on using these Google maps.

The second link to Streetmap is self-explanatory and unique for each hill.

This map comes up showing a 3 × 3 kilometre square, with the summit in the middle kilometre square as shown on the screenshot below.

Reproduced from Ordnance Survey map data by permission of Ordnance Survey, © Crown copyright.

The third link to Ordnance Survey Get-a-map comes up with a 2 × 2 km square centred at the summit.

Reproduced from Ordnance Survey map data by permission of Ordnance Survey, © Crown copyright.

Large area maps

It is quite useful to browse large areas with the Google Map facility. The following 3 links facilitate this.

For hills on the GB mainland south of Edinburgh/Glasgow together with the Isle of Man and Northern Ireland

For Ben Nevis and its descendants (Glasgow/Edinburgh to the Great Glen)

For Carn Eige’s descendants together with the Scottish Islands

© 2008 Google – Map Data © 2008 TeleAtlas

When the map first opens, many of the hill icons are not visible (see screenshot above); each map contains hundreds of symbols. If you zoom in significantly closer then all the hills in the area on view will appear. Again you can use the alphabetical listing to search your hill or click just above any icon. The resolution on the satellite images around Snowdon is impressive. Unfortunately the quality deteriorates in higher latitudes. See our guide to using Google maps for more information.

Local area maps

The 86 Prominent Peaks in Snowdonia in the screenshot towards the top of this page are included because they all fall in Region 30 (Sections 30A, 30B, 30C, 30D and 30E) as defined in Alan Dawson’s Relative Hills of Britain (The Marilyns). Regions 1 to 17 fit with the geographic boundaries established in Munr’os Tables by The Scottish Mountaineering Club. The Google Map links in the Database List Excel workbook take you to the hills of that Region. There are 3 exceptions. Regions 1 and 10 are split because of the large number of hills. Regions 38, 40 and 41 are combined as there are only 8 Prominent Peaks. By using this mechanism, restricting the number of icons to be loaded onto the map, all the hills appear without the necessity to zoom in further. There are 36 different local area maps, whereas the Region/ Section numbering goes up to 44. This is because there are a number of Regions which have no hills of 500 m elevation (Orkney, Shetland, St Kilda, River Tees to The Wash, Central & Eastern England and South-East England and the Isle of Wight).

To go to a local area map click on the area you would like on the map below.

Map 36 Map 35 Map 34 Map 34 Map 33 Map 32 Map 31 Map 30 Map 29 Map 28 Map 27 Map 26 Map 25 Map 24 Map 23 Map 22 Map 21 Map 20 Map 20 Map 3 Map 18 Map 17 Map 15 Map 14 Map 13 Map 12 Map 11 Map 10S Map 10N Map 9 Map 8 Map 7 Map 6 Map 5 Map 4 Map 19 Map 2 Map 1W Map 1E Map 16

© 2008 Google – Map Data © 2008 TeleAtlas

The individual maps are listed below:

© 2022 Jim Bloomer, Roddy Urquhart in association with UK metric association